LUMBEE RIVER ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION

Minutes of the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Members October 17, 2019

Pursuant to due notice thereof, the 79th Annual Meeting of the Members of the Lumbee River Electric Membership Corporation was held at the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, Givens Performing Arts Center, beginning at 1:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 17, 2019.

- 1. Registration and voting commenced at 1:00 p.m. and ended at 7:30 p.m.
- 2. Attorney Crystal Graham called the meeting to order and welcomed the members to the meeting. Ms. Graham introduced Pastor Richard Barnes of Clyborn Pines Church of God to give the invocation.
- Attorney Graham introduced the University of North Carolina at Pembroke's Dean of the College of Arts and Science, Dr. Jeff Frederick, who welcomed everyone to the university campus.
- 4. Attorney Graham introduced Secretary Carl A. Pevia who read the Proof of Mailing for the Annual Meeting Notice and reported that quorum was present. Mr. Pevia reported on September 25, 2019 the Corporation did place 54,258 Annual Meeting member notices in the United States mail with postage thereon duly paid. A copy of the proof of mailing is incorporated herein by reference, made a part of these minutes, and is available for inspection in the Minutes Book of the Corporation.
- 5. Attorney Graham called for the approval of the November 3, 2018 Annual Meeting minutes. Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the membership waived the reading of the minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting of the Members.
- 6. Attorney Graham reported that according to Section 5.05 of the Cooperative's Bylaws, candidates are placed into nomination in one of two ways: (1) nomination by the Nominating Committee; and (2) nomination by petition containing at least fifteen (15) or more members' signatures so nominating the interested members. Attorney Graham reported that the cooperative had received one (1) valid petition for nomination, placing into nomination Douglas Locklear for District 2.
- 7. Ms. Joan Flanagan presented the report of the Nominating Committee, placing into nomination the following names in the following districts:

District 2 Roger Oxendine

Larry Dean Jacobs

District 5 Madie Rae Locklear

Ilene Oxendine

Elaine Oxendine-Chavis

Lynn Locklear

District 6

James Hardin

Rory Eddings

- 8. President & Chief Executive Officer, Carmen E. Dietrich, recognized special guests and gave a special thank you to The Pierce Family and The McNeill's for providing entertainment and, also to the University of North Carolina at Pembroke for the use of their facility.
- 9. Attorney Graham introduced Mr. Ronnie E. Hunt, Chairperson of the Cooperative's Board of Directors, who gave an oral report to the membership. A copy of his comments is incorporated herein by reference, made a part of these minutes and is available for inspection in the Minutes Book of the Corporation.
- 10. Ms. Carmen E. Dietrich, President & Chief Executive Officer presented her annual presentation to the membership. A copy of her comments is incorporated herein by reference, made a part of these minutes and is available for inspection in the Minutes Book of the Corporation.
- 11. Attorney Graham opened the floor for comments and questions. General comments from members were provided. At the conclusion of comments from the floor, Attorney Graham closed the open forum of the program.
- 12. Attorney Graham announced the results of the director elections as follows:

District 2	Roger Oxendine	1,175
	Larry Dean Jacobs	1,122
	Preacher Doug Locklear	392
District 5	Madie Rae Locklear	1,430
	Ilene Oxendine	882
	Elaine Oxendine-Chavis	1,232
	Lynn Locklear	1,126
District 6	James Hardin	1,314
	Rory Eddings	1,352

- 13. Attorney Graham introduced Mr. Christopher Locklear, who conducted the drawing and awards of the door prizes and power credits.
- 14. After the drawing of the prizes, the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Members was proclaimed adjourned.
- 15. The 2019 Annual Meeting of Members registered 2,888 members. A file of each member registered is available with these minutes, incorporated herein by reference, made a part of these minutes and is available for inspection in the Minutes Book of the Corporation.

Signed:

Ronnie E. Hunt, Chairperson

Konnie & Hunt

Signed:

Carl A. Pevia, Secretary



LUMBEE RIVER ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION 2019 OFFICERS ELECTION

District 2				
Vote for: 1		Votes	Percent	
Roger Oxendine (incumbent)		1,175	43.7%	DECISION
Larry Jacobs		1,122	41.7%	
Preacher Doug Locklear		392	14.6%	
	Total Valid Ballots:	2,689		
	Total Unexercised:	119		
	Total Invalid:	51		
	Total Ballots Cast:	2,859		
District 5				
Vote for: 2		Votes	Percent	
Madie Rae Locklear (incumbent)		1,430	51.8%	DECISION
Elaine O. Chavis		1,232	44.6%	DECISION
Lynn Locklear		1,126	40.8%	
Ilene Oxendine (incumbent)		882	31.9%	
	Total Valid Ballots:	2,761		
	Total Unexercised:	67		
	Total Invalid:	31		
	Total Ballots Cast:	2,859		



LUMBEE RIVER ELECTRIC MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION 2019 OFFICERS ELECTION

District 6				
Vote for: 1		Votes	Percent	
Rory Eddings		1,352	50.7%	DECISION
James Hardin (incumbent)		1,314	49.3%	
	Total Valid Ballots:	2,666		
	Total Unexercised:	181		
	Total Invalid:	12		
	Total Ballots Cast:	2,859		